BTC uses Multifactor authentication (MFA) to protect your ctcLink and Canvas account. This means that you enter your ctcLink ID and ctcLink password, PLUS an additional verification in order to sign in.
Do you received an email with a security code when logging into ctcLink and Canvas? If you do, you will need to select an MFA option other than email. On October 26 ctcLink is removing the ability to use email as an MFA. You will be able to change your MFA option before October 26 using the information below or you will be prompted to select another available MFA option the first time you log in after the change.
This change protects your data and uses stronger authentication methods, such as biometrics, Okta Verify, Google Authenticator, or security keys. Text message MFA will also continue to be an available option.
If you have already selected an MFA option other than email, no additional action is required. Otherwise, the available options are listed below.
Log into ctcLink settings
Click the "Password Settings" tile
Once your profile is displayed, click the "Edit Profile" button
Edit your Security Methods and follow the prompts to configure and save
We recommend setting up at least two MFA options
Log into ctcLink settings
Click the "Password Settings" tile
Once your profile is displayed, click the "Edit Profile" button
Edit your Security Methods and follow the prompts to configure and save
We recommend setting up at least two MFA options
The next time you log into ctcLink or Canvas you will be able to enter your password and then click on the "Verify with something else" to select one of the MFA options that you have configured
If you need additional assistance with options on managing your MFA, read and follow the steps in this knowledge base article: Setting Up Your Multi-Factor Recovery Options
No, these messages are transitory and serve no useful purpose after the one-time code expires. You are encouraged to delete these messages as soon as possible.
If you check the “keep me signed in” box (located in 1st screenshot above) when you sign in, your MFA code will be remembered for 16 hours. This setting needs to be checked for each device that you use. Once this is done, you should only have to enter MFA once each day (per device that you use throughout the day)